Posted on

With those Prices, You Should Really Quit (But you’re not gonna)

Expensive Drug.

The Sin tax.

For a smoker it is seen as a harsh punishment of the reality we have put ourselves under. A punishment tormenting the time we first lit up, either from trying to look cool when we were teenager’s, or discovering the habit through a stressful situation, or even from instances of peer pressure. The rise of cigarette prices have enraged, shocked, and most probably caused more people to light up in stress with the absurdity of the prices.

The Australian government has kept smokers trapped with an ultimatum: Pay more or Quit

Quitting is hard, much too hard for many smokers. Many just can’t be bothered to rise up to the challenge. The health benefits are obviously a massive reason to quit, but to exterminate a ‘companion’ that keeps you calm and confident when trying to achieve the other challenges in your life, is too much of a sacrifice.

The strongly addicted must succumb to the punishment of being seen as a dirty, unhealthy smoker and now has to pay a hefty price tag for his forced lifestyle choice. Surely the economic burden is another strong incentive? But no, ignorance is too blissful, money can be made, and life is too hard and docile to experience it for too long.

Mind you this is not a article to suggest my fellow smokers to Quit.  I would be a hypocrite to say so. You and I know it is actually within our own choice and mental strength to kick the habit.

I have been motivated to buy loose tobacco. It is the economically way of smoking these days. I trade the accessibility of packet cigarettes to rolling my own. Thinking about the situation now, I find strings of frustration. Somewhat, ironically in a positive manner.

I am frustrated that I can’t roll a proper cigarette,

I am frustrated that I have to succumb to buying loose tobacco,

I am frustrated because of the prices,

I am frustrated that I am a Smoker.

“Fuck. I need a Cigarette.”


About Ariff Azmi

Founder of shriekingmonkeys - My interests span from quirky culture to anything that dares to amuse my highly-desensitized nature.

Leave a Reply

